|
|
| | |
|
 

Appalachian State University

Boone, NC
Save School
Campus Life and Facilities

AppState Students Say...

Appalachian "is located in Boone, North Carolina, which is a town of about 14,000 people. The university pretty much doubles the population of the town when school is in session." For those who love the outdoors, "the location is amazing. Waking up watching the sun come up over the mountains makes... More More

Visiting And Contact Information

Office of Admissions

ASU Box 32004

Boone, NC 28608-2004

United States

Phone: 828-262-2120

Fax: 828-262-3296

Website

Student Housing

All Undergraduates Living on Campus:
36%
Assistance Finding Off-Campus Housing:
Yes

Housing Options

Coed dorms Special housing for disabled student Men's dorms Women's dorms Apartments for single students Wellness Housing Theme Housing

Other Housing Options:

Sorority housing

Student Activities

GREEK LIFE: % OF STUDENT BODY WHO...

Student Activities

Academic Groups Debating Club Fraternities Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Groups Glee Club Improv comedy International Student Groups Literary Magazine Minority Student Groups Political Discussion Groups Radio Station Religious Groups Singing Groups Social Services Group Sororities Speakers Forum Student Film Society Student Union Team Managers Theater Program
Registered Student Organizations
289
Number of Honor Societies
16
Number of Social Sororities
9
Number of Religious Organizations
24

Sports

Athletic Division :Division I Men's Sports Team Name :Mountaineers Women's Sports Team Name :Mountaineers Team Mascot :Yosef
# of sports for women, varsity
10
# of sports for men, varsity
10

Women's Athletics List, Varsity

Basketball CrossCountry FieldHockey Golf Soccer Softball Tennis TrackFieldOutdoor TrackFieldIndoor Volleyball

Men's Athletics list, Varsity

Baseball Basketball CrossCountry Football Golf Soccer Tennis TrackFieldOutdoor TrackFieldIndoor Wrestling

Student Services

Other Services
DayCare
Health
WomensCenter
LGBT Support Groups
Yes
Description
Appalachian Allies http://glbt.appstate.edu Belk Library Guides for GLBT Studies http://www.library.appstate.edu/reference/subjectguides/gay.html Belk Library Special Collections Resources for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Life http://www.library.appstate.edu/collections/sc/subject/glbt.html Counseling and Psychological Services Center http://counseling.appstate.edu/index.php?module=pagesmith&id=13 GLBT Online Resources http://glbt.appstate.edu/index.php?module=pagesmith&id=4 LGBT Center http://glbt.appstate.edu/ LGBT Faculty & Staff asu_lgbt@yahoogroups.com Office of Equity, Diversity and Compliance http://edc.appstate.edu/equity/issues/sexual_orientation_discrim.html. SAGA: Sexuality and Gender Alliance http://sites.google.com/a/asusaga.org/www/home transACTION http://www.myspace.com/transactionasu In the Boone Community Boone Pride http://www.boonepride.org BoonePride.org is the North Carolina High Country's leading online Web portal devoted to uniting and representing the area’s GLBTIQA (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered, Intersexed, Queer and Allies) community.
Minority Support Groups
Yes
Description
http://multicultural.appstate.edu/clubs Diversity Services/Programs BSA Minority Study Abroad - http://www.bsaminoritystudyabroad.com/ Diversity Educators - http://multicultural.appstate.edu/index.php?module=pagesmith&id=64 Diversity Scholars - http://diversityscholars.appstate.edu/ Diversity Celebration - http://www.celebration.appstate.edu/ Office of Equity, Diversity and Compliance - http://edc.appstate.edu/ Office of Multicultural Student Development - http://multicultural.appstate.edu/index.php Open Door Program - http://edc.appstate.edu/equity/opendoor/

Technology On Campus / Facilities

Campus-wide Internet Network: Yes Email and Web Access Available: Yes % of Classrooms with Wireless Internet: 95% Number of Computer Labs / Classrooms: 75 Average Number of PC's per Lab: 32.00 Network Access in Dorm Rooms: Yes Network Access in Dorm Lounges: Yes Fee for Network Use: No Student Web Pages Permitted: Yes Student Web Pages Provided: Yes Partnerships with Technology Companies: Yes Online Class Registration Available: Yes Personal computer included in tuition for each student: No Require Undergraduates to Own Computers: No Discounts Available with Hardware Vendors: Yes Description: Apple, Dell Webcasting, Digital Audio or Video-Streaming of Courses: Yes Webcasting, Digital Audio or Video-Streaming of Campus Radio / TV Stations: Yes Special Facilities: Dark Sky Observatory http://www.dancaton.physics.appstate.edu/Observatories/DSO/index.htm Turchin Center for the Visual Arts: http://community.appstate.edu/program/turchin-center-for-the-visual-arts Living Learning Center: http://housing.appstate.edu/pagesmith/147 wind research site http://www.wind.appstate.edu/swiwind/smallwindrdsite.php library Special Collections http://www.library.appstate.edu/collections/sc/index.html Center for Judaic, Holocaust, and Peace Studies: http://community.appstate.edu/program/center-judaic-holocaust-and-peace-studies Appalachian Special Collections: http://community.appstate.edu/program/appalachian-special-collections Biodiesel Research and Education Projects: http://community.appstate.edu/program/biodiesel-research-and-education-projects Aquatic Programs: http://community.appstate.edu/program/aquatic-programs Catherine J. Smith Gallery: http://community.appstate.edu/program/catherine-j-smith-gallery F. Kenneth & Marjorie J. McKinney Geology Teaching Museum: http://community.appstate.edu/program/f-kenneth-marjorie-j-mckinney-geology-teaching-museum Looking Glass Gallery: http://community.appstate.edu/program/looking-glass-gallery Outdoor Geology Lab: http://community.appstate.edu/program/outdoor-geology-lab Rosen Outdoor Sculpture: http://community.appstate.edu/program/rosen-outdoor-sculpture meteorological reporting station, Language lab,
ROTC
Army ROTC Offered:On-Campus
More More

Campus Life & Facilities

  • Quality of Life Rating:
    88
  • Fire Safety Rating:
    87
  • Green Rating:
    97
  • Campus Environment:
    Village
  • First-Year Students
    Living on Campus:
    99%
  • All Undergraduates
    Living on Campus:
    36%
  • # of Organizations:
    289
  • # of Honor Societies:
    16
  • # of Social Sororities:
    9
  • # of Social Fraternities:
    13
  • Number of Religious
    Organizations:
    24
Need help researching schools? College Recruiter is a free service